Fish Nobody Can Escape

And why should they? There are subjects and objects simply irresistable to any photographer. Especially those at hand, in plain view, easy to get hold of.

I mean, why I like still photography so much is that any prop is right here in my house, in my kitchen or outside, in my garden.  It’s not like chasing people for portraiture, going through all kinds of trouble (not that it’s not worth it!) to get an image of a person how I want it, where I want it. With still life sessions I am like an almighty god of props, I can decide everything about everything, and turn things into whatever I want them to be, because props don’t talk back, they do what I want them to do.

Obviously, I am not the first one so clever, and not the last one. There have been thousands before me who were messing up in their kitchens like curious children who were left home alone.  Everything goes, if the light is good. Play away.

And here is a bit of an old joke from Bulgakov’s novel: a poet spent a restless night, composing his greatest poem, or so he thought. When at sunrize he finished his masterpiece, he suddenly realized that the poem had already been written, by a famous poet, a century earlier.  What I am saying is it’s practically impossible to come up with a concept that hasn’t been around before. In photography people have been going in circles, subject-wise, taking on what was/is/will be at hand and around. But who cares really.  If I was scared to waste my time on shooting something someone has done already I wouldn’t make a single click.  If I spent time thinking where I am with my image of a sunset among a million sunsets more, I would have passed on being a photographer all together.

So, a mackerel it is.